Not To Happy With Venom Battery Packs

With the R/C Season coming to an end in a month or two, I’ve been trying to get out an run the 1/16 Slash every nice day we have, hence the lack of posts. With that said & out of the way, let me got to the topic of this post.

As people who read the posts about my passion for the R/C hobby can probably guess that keeping my truck in top running order is something that takes priory in my life. I’m happy saying there was very very little damage to the truck so far this season, (Knock on wood). There was, however, battery pack issues, which weren’t major, but a bit annoying!

Like any hobby, making sure your car or truck battery pack is in good standing is a must, if you want to have maximum fun! And I’ve learned that packs a year or so old don’t hold a change, like they did when they were newer, causing me to buy two new sets, which I don’t mind.  This leads me to the reason why I won’t buy Venom battery packs, or anything from that manufacturer again.

When the old traxxas pack started to fail, the hobby shop sold me two venom 1600 Mah batteries, giving me the go ahead to charge em at 2 amps, which I did. However, in a month, one started becoming really hot after charges & showing signs of dying. Thankfully, the hobby shop gave me a new pack, no charge, but that one did the same thing, even though I cut my charger back to 1 amp.

I went back up the shop yesterday, (Friday) and jokingly told em: “Y’know though I like coming here to get away from my bullheaded family drama and to tease you guys, this battery issue’s not fun!” They agreed and didn’t charge me for the exchange, giving me a new stock traxxas batt. pack. Must say, the stock packs never fail, until the year mark is hit, so I’m sticking with em!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

