Tips And Advice For Beginner Writers 8:How To Handle Feedback

Let me start by saying this series was fun to do, because it allowed me to step out of my comfort zone and impart what I’ve learned. With that out of the way, let us get to the final post of this series. Hopefully the lessons that were covered motivate you to sit in front of your computer & let your ideas flow, but there is one last important lesson I need to talk about. What is it? Well read on and find out.

 

If you get your story finished, proof read and the whole nine yards, you may feel like posting it to a site, like fictionpress, adultfanfiction.net, (might be .org, not sure), which all the luck to ya! 🙂 With that said however, once your work is up, your gonna get people giving you reviews & feedback. Keep in mind that the people who are giving feedback are writers as well.

 

Say after they review your piece, the feedback is half good half bad. Kindly ask them what they didn’t like about the story and go over the part, trying to see what needs work and work on it. If the whole chapter needs a rewrite, take a break, but rewrite it. What you don’t want to do is get mad at the reviewer and tell him/her to stick it. When I first started, Loki, the girl who reviewed the first version of Starcross Love gave me harsh feedback & I lost my temper, sending her flaiming messages. Looking back, I do regret it and realize she was trying to motivate me to get better.

 

As always, if you’d like to discuss this topic, or anything writing related, please feel free to comment below. I read and respond to all of them! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

