Calling All Otaku, I Need Help!

YST

 

Okay, Some years ago I was in a position where I had a fairly large collection of anime. anything from the boxset of Evangelion, the complete series of Samurai Troopers to Elfen Lied. I rather enjoyed this time of my life because I could buy anime at a good pace, after bills and other expenses of course. However, all good things must come crashing down. A greedy ex caregiver of mine got her hooks into me and…..

 

Elfen_Lied_Lucy1

 

I got to a point where my temper had enough of her and her then boyfriend, so I asked my sister if she’d help move me back to my home city. She helped, but she either wanted to teach me a lesson or out of laziness, she didn’t go back for the rest of my things, including the anime. Since than, yes I’ve slowly been rebuilding my dvd/blu-ray collection with some old, some new series, but reading some other bloggers posts, I need advice on what to get.

 

While my pallet to watch any series doesn’t have a limit, I do have a couple exceptions. Akame Ga Kill comes to mind, I’m avoiding getting that series like the plague! Here’s where you can help. There have been a lot of good series out & reviewed by the bloggers I follow that I’m getting overloaded, (not a bad thing), but a little help with my list of what to buy/try is requested.

 

I understand that what you like might not appeal to me, and that’s okay, but out of your lists, would you suggest a few series?

Thanks in advance! πŸ™‚

16 thoughts on “Calling All Otaku, I Need Help!

  1. ONE PIECE, definitely. Death Note, Bakuman. Gundam Seed & Seed Destiny. Hajime no Ippo. Trigun, Cowboy Bebop. Naruto, Bleach. Dragon Ball. Fullmetal Alchemist &/or FMA Brotherhood. Hunter x Hunter. Mushishi, Blood+. Witch Hunter Robin, Gunslinger Girl. Gundam 00. Initial D. All sports anime. Code Geass, definitely. Tokyo Ghoul, Parasyte, Joker Game, Zankyou no Terror, Durarara!!

    I can list more but that would just be messy, I think. G’luck on building your collection again!

  2. Death Note, Terror in Resonance, Gundam Seed, Code Geass, Full MEtal Alchemist Brotherhood, Soul Eater, Bleach and pretty much whatever it is you want to watch. I’ve been building my collection for a fair while and while I originally just got the big ticket items now that I’ve got most of my favourite classics I tend to find smaller series (romances and comedies) to help fill it out as well as new releases.
    It sucks to lose your collection but if there were any anime you originally regretted buying at least you can avoid doing it again.

    • Looks like a good lineup, thank you. It does suck that I lost the collection I had, think my sister didn’t go get it to teach me a lesson. About all you listed, I’ve wanted to grab, but I also look for classics! πŸ™‚

  3. I’m going to agree with Death Note. Also, I just bought Cowboy Bebop (a classic) on Amazon for like $30. Just invest smart. I have plenty of anime I like and might watch again, but I only tend to buy stuff I will watch over and over, like Fullmetal Alchemist and Evangelion.

  4. Ouch, the story of your anime collection smarts 😦 Best of luck rebuilding it. The commenters have already suggested the best stuff you should check out. I would also recommend Psycho Pass and Steins;Gate.

    If you like Eva perhaps you would enjoy RahXephon, which is pretty much the same but with a less annoying protagonist and a satisfying ending. Elfen Lied’s writer also did Brynhildr in the Darkness, so you might like that show.

Leave a Reply

