Project A-KO Review

Ako

 

This review was along time coming, mainly due to me watching it with the intent of writing one, but the anime had me laughing so hard that my notes would be forgotten! πŸ™‚ Before starting, let it be known, (but some may know this anime was one of my first that got me hooked), so I may be bias. With that said, let us press β€œGO!”

The anime opens with a spacewalk, doing work on a satellite when the Mother ship, (guessing ground control) spots an object rapidly moving towards the astronauts and their ship. The object destroys the ship, crash landing in Japan, taking a city, if not much of the country with it. Sixteen years later, people rebuilt and are advanced as ever, so let us cut to a girl, A-ko having breakfast. As she does, her clock alarms goes off, sending her into panic mode, racing to get ready for school, while her friend, C-ko waits at the front door.

Might help to say A-ko may seem like an average high school girl, but off the bat we see that has superpowers, (super speed for one). On the way, while she’s running with C-ko in tow through a β€œshortcut”, they plow into and send another character flying, (D), which happens a few times in the show. As the two introduce themselves, we meet B-ko, a rich daughter who kinda has an desire for C-ko & will stop at nothing to make her her friend, but there are strong hints that she wants more than friendship.

This is just one of the areas this anime takes a trip into weirdness. Aside from B-ko trying to β€œbefriend” C-ko by sending friends and mechs after A-ko, ultimately she fights A-ko herself, but throw in aliens who look like men, but are women who think C-ko’s their lost princess and go on a funny tare to retrieve her.

I tend to like almost every character in the show, A-ko is a young woman with a quick temper who protects her friend at every turn. Her fighting ability’s good, if ya like over the top fight scenes. B-ko, on the other hand, kinda gets to me, but I don’t like stuck up rich kids in anime, but that is just me. D, well, if the character got hit anymore, she’d be in a wheelchair or in a coma. πŸ™‚ No, the β€œCaptain”. If there was an award for being a drunk, the character would win it. Lol πŸ™‚ Every scene with her, a bottle of booze was in her hand, but when it ran dry, the way she flipped was a riot!

ANIMATION

For this being an late 80s, early 90s release, the animation’s done well. Sure, nothing ground breaking, but very passable to me. Mechs were good and for this being the first anime that popped my cherry, (yes, I said it) and got me into anime they scratched my itch.

Comedy

Said in the beginning that reviewing this took a long while due to me laughing my ass off. The comedy wasn’t great, but there are quite a few areas in the show that may grab you. For me, there were a lot, like how C-ko tries to make A-ko eat the lunch she made for her, but it makes her wanna hide. When the captain wigs out due to having no booze always makes me laugh until I fall out of my wheelchair as well! πŸ™‚

Would I recommend this anime? Yes, most definitely! I’ll admit, the hentai overtone would be high for first time anime watchers looking to enter the genera, but if you’re willing to look past them, or if you’re a seasoned vet, try the show! πŸ™‚

FINAL THOUGHT:

We all have that first anime that got us into the scene, Project A-ko was mine. And while it may not be the best, it’s good for what it is.

10 thoughts on “Project A-KO Review

  1. This was actually one of my first anime too, way back in the VHS era. I re-watched it on DVD recently and was quite amuse to see how it holds up for me. There’s a wonderfully nostalgic feel to it.

  2. Oh, interesting. I’m not familiar with this anime. I wasn’t born yet then. Anyway, thanks for submitting this post to my blog carnival. Keep on watching anime and blogging. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

